Music Monday, June 26, 2023 – I.M, Kang Daniel, Kim Jae Hwan, GreatGuys

Four great releases this past week from I.M, Kang Daniel, Kim Jae Hwan feat. Bobby and GreatGuys.

“Overdrive” by I.M

I.M makes a stunning solo comeback with the album Overdrive. The first release after signing with Sony Music signals the start of full-fledge solo promotions. And the album and title track of the same name couldn’t be an any more perfect way for him to step out and announce his arrival. Of course, he has already shown off his many talents as a member of MONSTA X and his first solo release under Starship. But Overdrive, the title track and entire album specifically, really is an opportunity for him to showcase his own unique style. And of course his multi-faceted talent. The album is a diverse mix of sound, woven together by an almost ethereal aura about them. The six songs tell an almost dreamlike story, with I.M effortlessly expressing interesting emotions through the lyrics, music and performance. Really an excellent album and will probably be one of my absolute favorites of the year.

“SOS” by Kang Daniel

Kang Daniel’s latest album Realiez is another excellent release from the talented soloist. Like its accompanying music video, title track “SOS” is a captivating cinematic experience. The fusion of rock and hip-hop makes for a song that commands attention and is a perfect song to introduce anyone to the rest of the strong album with its mix of pop, rock, R&B and hip-hop.

“Lucky!” by Kim Jae Hwan feat. Bobby

Kim Jae Hwan gets funky with his newest release. Title track “Lucky!” is a fun and groovy track that offers Kim Jae Hwan an opportunity to let loose compared to his other releases. Bobby offers up a catchy rap section that completes the energetic feels of the song. The rest of the album J.A.M (Journey Above Music) follows suit with its bright, summer vibes.

“Luv Luv Luv” by GreatGuys

It’s great! to get some fresh new music from GreatGuys. It’s been a while since their last release. And “Luv Luv Luv” is a cool and refreshing track that expresses the group’s happiness and gratitude of their time since debut. Both it and B-side track “Only You” exude a wonderful charm from the talented group. The synth-infused pop melodies will definitely leave you with a smile on your face.

Share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top